Fraternity and Sorority Life Community

In 1840, the first fraternity at the University of Cincinnati was founded. Since then, the fraternity and sorority community at UC includes more than 3,200 students at our Uptown, Clermont, Blue Ash, and Medical campuses. Our community currently consists of 45 chapters: 10 College Panhellenic Council (CPC) chapters + 1 associate chapter, 23 Interfraternity Council (IFC) chapters, 4 Multicultural Greek Council (MGC) chapters, and 7 National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) chapters. Members from each of these four councils make up the programming body for our community, the Greek Engagement Board. 

Fraternity and Sorority Life has a long history of tradition and excellence at the University of Cincinnati. Since 1840, UC has been home to over 50 national fraternities and sororities, and more than 22,000 alumni have passed through our community.

Shortly after Beta Theta Pi’s birth at Miami of Ohio in 1839, it established a second chapter at the University of Cincinnati (then the Cincinnati College) which thus established in 1840 the first fraternity at what is now the University of Cincinnati. Sigma Chi was founded in 1882, and Sigma Alpha Epsilon shortly after in 1889. Beta Theta Pi was revived in 1890, and Phi Delta Theta was the last men’s fraternity to be founded before the turn of the century.

The first sorority founded at the University of Cincinnati was Kappa Kappa Gamma in 1885. However, they relinquished their charter shortly thereafter, and three of the four members became founders of a local group until 1913 when it chartered as Kappa Alpha Theta. Delta Delta Delta was the second women’s fraternity founded at our university in 1892.

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc. and Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. were the first historically African-American Greek lettered organizations founded at the University of Cincinnati, both in 1920.

In 1996, Alpha Psi Lambda was the first co-ed, Latino-interest fraternity to come to campus. The Multicultural Greek Council was formally established in 2018 with the help of Chi Sigma Tau Fraternity, Inc., Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc., and Sigma Alpha Epsilon Pi. 

The five Pillars of Excellence represent the values that the University of Cincinnati Fraternity & Sorority chapters and members have chosen to commit to and uphold.

  • Intellectual Development
  • Philanthropy & Service
  • Social Responsibility & Citizenship
  • Leadership Development
  • Values Integration & Personal Growth

Director: Dr. Kate Butler

Assistant Director: Madeline Stine 

Assistant Director: Ilaisah Martinez 

Program Coordinator: Bri Cross 


The Greek Engagement Board is an organization made up of student leaders from the Fraternity & Sorority Life (FSL) community at the University of Cincinnati. The purpose of the Board is to ensure the welfare and continued growth and development of the community, while promoting FSL activities for the benefit and enhancement of the community at the University. The Board exists to unify Greek organizations through collaborative initiatives.

Annually, the Greek Engagement Board will facilitate Future Greek Leaders, GreekServe, Greek Week, the Variety Show, and the Greek Excellence Awards while promoting the community through public relations and fundraising efforts. 


President: Matthew Vorhees

Advisor: Bri Cross


The College Panhellenic Council (CPC) is the governing body of 10 chapters and 1 associate chapter at the University of Cincinnati. The purpose of this Council and its organizations is to help women grow into strong and powerful leaders in the classroom, in their organizations, and in their future careers. We strive to develop and maintain women’s sorority life and interfraternity relationships successfully. 

Associated Chapters

  • Chi Omega
  • Delta Delta Delta
  • Gamma Phi Beta
  • Kappa Alpha Theta
  • Kappa Delta
  • Kappa Kappa Gamma
  • Phi Mu
  • Phi Sigma Rho
  • Pi Beta Phi
  • Theta Phi Alpha
  • Zeta Tau Alpha

President: Kelcie Kaiman

Advisor: Madeline Stine


NPHC is the coordinating body for the 6 historically African-American fraternities and sororities at the University of Cincinnati. Originally formed in 1930 at Howard University, the purpose of NPHC is “unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek-letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.” NPHC plans and implements a variety of programs for its chapters as well as the entire community.

Associated Chapters:

  • Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.
  • Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.
  • Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.
  • Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.
  • Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.
  • Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

President: Mycah Faison

Advisor: Ilaisah Martinez 


MGC is the most recently established council at the University of Cincinnati, and is comprised of 4 chapters: 1 men’s fraternity, 2 women’s sororities and 1 co-ed fraternity. The mission of MGC is to foster development of the Greek Community through leadership, service, and advocating on behalf of its member organizations. MGC places an importance on diverse identities held within this inclusive community. MGC upholds the ideals of equity, partnership, and diversity.

Associated Chapters:

  • Alpha Psi Lambda National, Inc.
  • Chi Sigma Tau National Fraternity, Inc.
  • Delta Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.
  • Kappa Phi Lambda Sorority, Inc.

President: Hope Kim

Advisor: Ilaisah Martinez